An Electric Scooter Community on a Mission to Stamp out Transportation Mediocrity.

Share your stories and adventures, good or bad.
By xw4600
I just signed up to be a mechanic and my startup kit arrived in a few days. It came with a few tires, tubes and stickers. No tools, but that's not a problem for me, I'm a bicycle mechanic so that covers everything on a bird tool wise. I never got a interview call, I thought that was a part of the process. So off I went to pick up a bird for repair, I didn't have to travel far, found it easily and scanned the QR.

So I'm in the pre repair inspection and I am going through the list and I am confused by the headlight checkbox. I mean, I see what looks like a headlight, it's not on, is there a test procedure? Not knowing the answers to these questions I checked it as needing repair. Also with the stem which was loose and the bell which was jammed against the brain, not allowing it to chime. I took it home, repaired the bell and stem and messaged my mechanic on boarding contact first thing in the morning about the light. No reply. I'm pretty sure it's a person, perhaps it's a bot. Around lunch I contacted support through the app, for some reason the reply went to my email address instead of the app. I didn't realize anyone had replied until hours later and the ticket was closed. I was able to learn that the headlight doesn't come on in mechanic mode. I still don't know if there is a test procedure I am supposed to perform or if I should just release the scooter or drop it off at one of these storage units or wherever it is you bring these for more serious repairs.